New Year’s Resolutions

I am crap at domesticity. I hate cleaning, I’m massively inefficient at organising my home, I can just about scrape together a meal and anything with ‘homemade’ or ‘craft’ in the title makes my skin crawl. Don’t get me wrong, I’d like to be better at being a traditional homemaker (sort of), I just can’t do it.

Yet even though I know this and accept it, a part of me keeps trying. I guess it’s an attempt to be a good parent. My house should at the very least be clean and tidy, we should always have enough clothes in the drawers (not dumped on the sofa which is where ours seem to spend most of their time) and I should be able to cobble together a reasonably nutritious home cooked meal every night. It’s not too much to ask. Then there’s all the parent admin which no one tells you about before you have kids (because it’s bloody boring) like paying for school meals, applying for school places, coordinating donations for the nursery toy sale (failed – sorry nursery!) and such like. I’m mega-organised at work, but somehow it all falls to pieces at home where organisation counts as keeping paperwork in one big box to be rifled through in a panic any time something important happens.

I keep trying. And I keep failing. And I get fed up and think ‘what’s the point?’ and stop trying. Then it gets worse so I try again. And fail. Repeat ad infinitum.

So this year I made possibly the best and most achievable New Year’s Resolution I’ve ever come up with: to care less about the state of the house and spend more time playing!

Bloody genius.

I bet I am the only person on the planet who has stuck to their New Year’s Resolution this far into January. I am on a losing streak with Snakes and Ladders, me and the three year old are currently at a draw with the Ladybird Game and yesterday I invented two new verses of Old Macdonald involving both my sons’ names which made the baby belly chuckle repeatedly for the first time.

Unfortunately it does mean my house looks like it’s been ransacked, I haven’t vacuumed properly in weeks (yuk, that’s actually quite disgusting – might have to rectify that one) and my post-Christmas clean-up is so poor that I’ve only just discovered a Toblerone from someone’s stocking hiding underneath the sofa bed (finders keepers!). I’m also not sure how much my husband will appreciate it when he discovers the mound of ironing he spent 3 hours doing last night after a full day’s work is still sitting on the sofa waiting to be put away.

Ah well. Nothing to be done about that. It was a resolution, so I have to stick to it!

 

2 responses

  1. I also forgot to attend the domestic goddess boot camp before having children and yet I am surrounded by other Mums that seem to be able to keep on top of it? Its a lie, surely? How do they do it? Ill assume they frantically kick it all under it all under their sofa before I come over? Yes. That’s it.

    1. Definitely. Maybe I just need to invest in a bigger sofa to shove stuff under! 😊

Leave a Reply

